Mandala Moments

About two years ago I saw the work of an American photographer Elizabeth Kazda and thought that her creation with tulips was terrific. Old hands will know that anything to do with tulips is a winner with me.

I realized that her patterns were created in camera – yes I know some people are able to produce mandala in Photoshop. Indeed it is not terribly difficult once you manage the first segment.

To do the same thing in camera using multiple exposures is possible. Contrary to popular belief it is the subject material that rotates and the camera remains still. I actually wish I had taken a photograph of my studio set up just for the record – but like me you will have to work it out for yourself if you decide to have a go at it.

I received some hints about rotating turntables but it has been the lighting source which has caused the biggest problem. One of the pictures in this set has shadow problems but eventually that was overcome.

I decided to share the first prototypes with my blog readers and would be happy to receive any suggestions for arrangements and subject material.  It was a friendly mechanic who suggested the spanners and pliers

– so if you have any ideas do send them to me.

The present aim is to produce a design for each season. Don’t groan in anticipation of a Christmas follow up – I’ll save it for next year – but Spring, Easter – do I hear daffodils?

Of course there will be tulips. Thank you Elizabeth.